Facilitator of European Summit on Hospital Pharmacy receives award for international pharmacy practice achievement

The European Association of Hospital Pharmacists sends its warmest congratulations to Professor Lee Vermeulen on being awarded the prestigious Donald E. Franke Medal for his contributions to international pharmacy practice.

The American Society of Health System Pharmacists (ASHP) present the accolade each year as recognition to those pharmacists who drive improvement of pharmacy practice across international borders.

In addition to playing an inspiring role in the creation of FIP's 2008 Basel Statements on international hospital pharmacy practice, Prof Vermeulen was a lynchpin of good advice and event facilitation when EAHP and its members created the subsequent European Statements of Hospital Pharmacy in May 2014.

Commenting on the award, EAHP President Joan Peppard said:

"Forming the European Statements of Hospital Pharmacy, a vision for practice to guide EAHP's practice development mission, was no easy task. Without wise and experienced guidance from contributors to the project such as Prof Vermeulen, the consensus we achieved between our membership representatives, and patient and other healthcare professionals, would not have been possible. It's a richly deserved honour, and on behalf of the European Association of Hospital Pharmacists, I add our thanks for all that he provides to international cooperation on pharmacy development".

More information about the award presentation is available on the website of the American Society of Health System Pharmacists here.